Electoral divisions | NTEC

Electoral divisions

Legislative Assembly divisions

The Northern Territory covers approximately 1,420,000 square kilometres and has 25 Legislative Assembly divisions; each represented by one elected Member of the Legislative Assembly. Electoral divisions are very different in geographical size and can range from as little as four square kilometres to almost 450,000 square kilometres. However, each division has approximately the same number of electors, around 5,500.

Electoral divisions may also be known as constituencies, electoral boundaries, electorates or seats. The term electorate can also refer to the electors enrolled in a division.

View Northern Territory Legislative Assembly division boundaries via the following link:


In accordance with Part 8, Division 2, section 138(2) of the Electoral Act 2004, the redistribution process must be conducted as soon as practicable after 2 years and 6 months after election day for the general election. The boundaries of each division are reviewed and changed, if necessary, so that the number of electors in each division are as near to equal as practicable. Any changes become effective at the next general election.

View more information on redistributions conducted in the Northern Territory via the following link:

Council elector representation reviews

In accordance with Part 6 of the Local Government (Electoral) Regulations 2008, each council carries out an electoral review of its structure and elected membership once in every four-year term. Any changes to structure and membership become effective at the next local government general elections. The number of electors in councils and wards differs depending on whether they are municipal, regional or shire councils.

Local government areas

View the current Northern Territory Local Government boundaries via the following link: