Object, principles and matters to be considered in redistribution

The Redistribution Committee is constituted under and operates in accordance with the Electoral Act 2004 and the Northern Territory (Self-Government) Act 1978.

Object of redistribution

Section 139 of the Electoral Act states that the object of a redistribution is to ensure that, at the time of the next general election, the number of electors in each proposed division is as near to equal as practicable.

Principles of redistribution

Section 139A of the Electoral Act states that to satisfy the object of redistribution, the Redistribution Committee must have regard to the following principles:

  1. the physical area of a division containing rural and remote areas should be as small as practicable;
  2. the demographic characteristics of a division should be as uniform as practicable;
  3. the geographic features of a division should be as uniform as practicable;
  4. each identifiable community should be included in only one division if practicable;
  5. subject to paragraphs (a) to (d), changes to existing divisions should minimise the number of electors being transferred from one division to another.

Naming of division during redistribution (section 139B):

  1. The name of a division must not be changed by a redistribution unless the existing name is no longer appropriate.
  2. If a new name is proposed for a division, the use of locality names should be avoided.

Matters to be considered in redistribution

The committee must consider the following matters as set out in section 140 of the Electoral Act in achieving the object of a redistribution:
  1. The number of electors in each proposed division meets the requirement of section 13(4) of the Northern Territory (Self Government) Act relating to divergence from one-fifth of a quota.
  2. In addition, the Redistribution Committee must give proper consideration to the following matters:
  1. community of interests in each proposed division, including economic, social and regional interests;
  2. types of communication and travel in each proposed division, with special reference to disabilities arising out of remoteness or distance;
  3. the trend of population changes in the Territory;
  4. the density of population in each proposed division;
  5. the area of each proposed division;
  6. the physical features of each proposed division;
  7. the existing boundaries of the following:
  1. divisions;
  2. local government areas and wards under the Local Government Act 2008 and suburbs and towns;
  3. division or subdivision under the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918;
  4. areas of Aboriginal Land Councils established by or under the Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976 (Cth);

h. all suggestions and comments.