Unincorporated areas - discussion paper | NTEC

Unincorporated areas - discussion paper

Cox-Daly and Marrakai-Douglas Daly areas

One of the major objectives of the 2008 local government reforms was the inclusion of the whole of the Northern Territory into local government areas. The intention prior to 2008 was to have a Top End Council, which was to include the Cox Daly and Marrakai-Douglas Daly areas. However, the Top End Council was not created.

As a result, both areas are unincorporated, that is, they are not within a local government area. It is estimated that there are a total of 2,082 allotments within these unincorporated areas, including 17 pastoral leases and 40 mining tenements.

Submissions were sought on the matter and the resulting discussion paper developed.