Division of Arafura | NTEC

Division of Arafura

History of name

The division was created following the 1983 redistribution and is named after the Arafura Sea. Arafura is derived from the Indigenous name for the 'people of the mountains' of the Moluccas (or Maluku Islands), an archipelago in eastern Indonesia. The Dutch named the sea in 1827.


The division of Arafura is a 'Top End' division comprising the Tiwi Islands, West Arnhem and Kakadu National Park, and includes the communities of Gunbalanya, Jabiru, Maningrida, Milikapiti, Minjilang, Pirlangimpi, Warruwi, and Wurrumiyanga.
Approx. area: 57,410 km²


L CostaALP2016 - Present
F X KurrupuwuCLP2012 - 2016
M R ScrymgourALP2001 - 2012
M J RioliALP1992 - 2001
S G TipilouraALP1987 - 1992
R L CollinsALP1983 - 1987

Division of Arafura