Division of Barkly | NTEC

Division of Barkly

History of name

The division was created for the first Legislative Assembly election in 1974 and centres on the Barkly Tableland. The area was named by the explorer William Landsborough in 1861 after Sir Henry Barkly, the then Governor of Victoria.


The division of Barkly occupies the eastern half of the interior of the Northern Territory. It extends from just south of the Sandover Highway in the south, to just north of the Carpentaria Highway in the north. The division includes the Barkly Tableland, the regional centre of Tennant Creek and the communities of Ali Curung, Alpurrurulam, Ampilatwatja, Arlparra, Borroloola, Daly Waters, Elliott, Larrimah, and Ti Tree.
Approx. area: 442,868 km²


S EdgingtonCLP2020 - Present
G F McCarthyALP2008 - 2020
E A McAdamALP 2001 - 2008
M A HickeyALP1990 - 2001
I L TuxworthNAT1987 - 1990
I L TuxworthCLP1974 - 1987

Division of Barkly