Division of Blain | NTEC

Division of Blain

History of name

The division was created following the 1997 redistribution. It is named after Adair Macalister Blain who was elected to the House of Representatives in 1934 as an independent for the division of the Northern Territory. He had moved to the Territory in 1929 to become the Darwin area surveyor. During World War II he was captured by the Japanese following the fall of Singapore in 1942. He became the only serving member of the House of Representatives to be a prisoner of war.


The division of Blain comprises the southern part of the City of Palmerston and includes the suburbs of Bellamack, a small southern portion of Moulden, Woodroffe, and the western half of Rosebery.
Approx. area: 4 km²


M TurnerALP2020 - Present
T K MillsIND2016 - 2020
N BarrettCL2014 - 2016
T K MillsCLP1999 - 2014
B CoulterCLP1997 - 1999

Division of Blain