Division of Braitling | NTEC

Division of Braitling

History of name

The division was created following the 1983 redistribution. It is named after Mrs Doreen Braitling BEM, a pioneering pastoralist and heritage advocate, who lived at Mt Doreen Station, west of Alice Springs, from the 1930s until 1959 when her husband died. In 1959 she moved to Alice Springs where she was heavily involved in the preservation of the town’s historic buildings.


The division of Braitling covers the north-western part of Alice Springs and includes the suburbs of Braitling, Ciccone, East Side, and Sadadeen, as well as most of the Alice Springs town centre.
Approx. area: 9 km²


J R BurgoyneCLP2020 - Present
D S WakefieldALP2016 - 2020
A G GilesCLP2008 - 2016
L M BrahamIND2001 - 2008
L M BrahamCLP1994 - 2001
R W S ValeCLP1983 - 1994

Division of Braitling