Division of Fannie Bay | NTEC

Division of Fannie Bay

History of name

The division was created for the first Legislative Assembly election in 1974. It is named after the bay adjacent to the division. The name Fannie Bay is believed to have originated from Fannie Carandini, an opera singer who performed in Adelaide in 1869, a month before the surveyors who accompanied George Goyder left to establish the settlement of Port Darwin.


The division of Fannie Bay lies adjacent to the Darwin CBD and includes the suburbs of East Point, Fannie Bay, The Gardens, Parap, and Ludmilla.
Approx. area: 11 km²


M P F GunnerALP2008 - Present
C M MartinALP1995 - 2008
M B PerronCLP1983 - 1995
P F O'NeilALP1977 - 1983
G E TamblingCLP1974 - 1977

Division of Fannie Bay