Division of Goyder | NTEC

Division of Goyder

History of name

The division was created following the 1990 redistribution. It is named after George Woodroffe Goyder, who led the South Australian survey group who conducted the first major freehold surveys (covering 269,467 hectares in a six month period) in the newly established settlement of Palmerston (now called Darwin) in 1869.


The division of Goyder is situated in the rural area to the south east of Darwin and includes the suburbs of Acacia Hills, Bees Creek, Black Jungle, Humpty Doo, Lambells Lagoon, Lloyd Creek, Marrakai, Middle Point, Mount Bundey, Noonamah, and Virginia.
Approx. area: 9,770 km²


K D T PurickIND2008 - Present
E J WarrenALP2005 - 2008
P J MaleyCLP2001 - 2005
T R McCarthyCLP1990 - 2001

Division of Goyder