Division of Gwoja | NTEC

Division of Gwoja

History of name

The division was created for the first Legislative Assembly election in 1974. Previously named Stuart after the explorer John McDouall Stuart, the name was changed following the 2019 redistribution to recognise Gwoja Tjungarrayi. A local Aboriginal elder born in the Tanami Desert, Gwoja Tjungarrayi survived the Coniston massacre and became involved in early mining, pastoralism and tourism industries. He was the first Aboriginal person to have his likeness on an Australian postage stamp, and his image is also on the Australian $2 coin.


The division of Gwoja occupies the western half of the Northern Territory. It extends south from the Victoria River and Gregory National Park, all the way to the border with South Australian and includes the Tanami Desert, Watarrka National Park and Uluru-Kata Juta National Park. The division includes the communities of Amanbidji, Daguragu, Kalkarindji, Kaltukatjara, Kintore, Lajamanu, Laramba, Ntaria (Hermannsburg), Papunya, Willowra, Yarralin, Yuelamu, Yuendumu, and Yulara.
Approx. area: 427,605 km²


C J PaechALP2020 - Present
S L McConnellALP/IND2016 - 2020
B N PriceCLP2012 - 2016
K R HamptonALP2006 - 2012
P H ToyneALP1996 - 2006
B R EdeALP1983 - 1996
R W S ValeCLP1974 - 1983

Division of Gwoja