Division of Karama | NTEC

Division of Karama

History of name

The division was created following the 1986 redistribution and named after the suburb of Karama on which the division was then based. The name Karama, as with many of the northern suburbs of Darwin, is named after an Aboriginal tribal group of the Northern Territory.


The division of Karama is in the northern part of Darwin and includes the suburbs of Karama and Malak, as well as a portion of Berrimah and Marrara.
Approx. area: 8 km²


N J Ah KitALP2016 - Present
D P LawrieALP2001 - 2016
M J PalmerCLP1987 - 2001

Division of Karama