Division of Mulka | NTEC

Division of Mulka

History of name

The division was created for the first Legislative Assembly election in 1974. Formerly known as Nhulunbuy, the name of the divisions’ main township, it was renamed Mulka in the 2019 redistribution to reflect that the division now encompasses a much larger area beyond the town than it did previously. Mulka is a Yolngu word (the main Aboriginal group and language in the division) meaning ‘dry area,’ but it is also widely used to describe a diplomatic space where people are welcome to visit and bring business and discussions.


The division of Mulka is located in 'Top End', in the most north-eastern corner of the Northern Territory in East Arnhem Land. It includes the Gove, Flinders and Napier Peninsulas, as well as Elcho Island and the Wessel Islands. The division includes the town of Nhulunbuy and the communities of Galiwin'ku, Milingimbi, Ramingining, and Yirrkala.
Approx. area: 14,736 km²


Y M GuyulaIND2016 - Present
L M WalkerALP2008 - 2016
S J StirlingALP1990 - 2008
D M LeoALP1980 - 1990
M J BallantyneCLP1974 - 1980

Division of Mulka