Division of Spillett | NTEC

Division of Spillett

History of name

The division was created following the 2015 redistribution and is named after Peter Gerald Spillett AM, FRGS. He was a community leader, historian and author who founded the Historical Society of the NT, and had a particular interest in Makassan (Indonesian trepangers) contact with Yolngu people in Arnhem Land. He was a member of the Order of Australia and received the NT Achiever Award for outstanding service to the community.


The division of Spillett surrounds the City of Palmerston and incorporates the newer eastern Palmerston suburbs, as well as the industrial area bridging Darwin and Palmerston. It includes the suburbs of Archer, Durack, East Arm, Johnston, Marlow Lagoon, Mitchell, Pinelands, Tivendale, Winnellie, Wishart, Yarrawonga, and Zuccoli, as well as a portion of Berrimah and the newly established suburb of North Crest.
Approx. area: 67 km²


L E FinocchiaroCLP2016 - Present

Division of Spillett