Division of Wanguri | NTEC

Division of Wanguri

History of name

The division was created following the 1983 redistribution and named after the suburb of Wanguri on which the division is based. The name Wanguri, as with many of the northern suburbs of Darwin, is named after an Aboriginal tribal group of the Northern Territory.


The division of Wanguri includes the Darwin northern suburbs of Buffalo Creek, Holmes, Leanyer and Wanguri, as well as most of Muirhead.
Approx. area: 29 km²


N S ManisonALP2013 - Present
P R HendersonALP1999 - 2013
J D BaileyALP1989 - 1999
D F DaleCLP1983 - 1989

Division of Wanguri