Division of Arafura


The division was created following the 1983 redistribution and named after the Arafura Sea. Arafura refers to the mountain people of the Moluccan Islands. The Dutch named the sea in 1827. The 2015 redistribution saw Jabiru and Kakadu move from Arafura to the division of Arnhem.


A 'Top End' division comprising the Tiwi Islands, West Arnhem and includes the communities of Gunbalanya, Maningrida, Milikapiti, Minjilang, Nguiu, Pirlangimpi and Warruwi.


L CostaALP2016 - Present
F M XavierCLP2012 - 2016
M R ScrymgourALP2001 - 2012
M J RioliALP1992 - 2001
S G TipilouraALP1987 - 1992
R CollinsALP1983 - 1987