Division of Stuart | NTEC

Division of Stuart


The division was created for the first Legislative Assembly election in 1974. It is named after John McDouall Stuart, the explorer, who passed through the area in 1861 and 1862 on his journeys to find a route from South Australia to the north coast of Australia. The 2015 redistribution saw Stuart gain Areyonga, Haasts Bluff, Hermannsburg, Kintore, Mount Liebig, Papunya, Wallace Rockhole and surrounding communities from the division of Namatjira. Barunga, Beswick, Mataranka, moved to the division of Arnhem. Douglas-Daly, Kybrook Farm and Pine Creek moved to the division of Daly.


This division occupies the western half of the Northern Territory. It extends from the Victoria River region, Pine Creek and the area around Katherine in the north to the Tanami Desert in the south. The division includes the communities of Areyonga, Daguragu, Haasts Bluff, Hermannsburg, Kalkarindji, Kintore, Lajamanu, Laramba, Mount Liebig, Nyirripi, Papunya, Ti Tree, Timber Creek, Wallace Rockhole, Willowra, Yarralin, Yuelamu, and Yuendumu.


S L McConnellALP/IND2016 - Present
B N PriceCLP2012 - 2016
K R HamptonALP2006 - 2012
P H ToyneALP1996 - 2006
B R EdeALP1983 - 1996
R W D ValeCLP1974 - 1983