Local government areas | NTEC

Local government areas

In accordance with Part 6 of the Local Government (Electoral) Regulations, each council carries out an electoral review of its structure and elected membership once in every four-year term. Any changes to structure and membership become effective at the next general election. The number of electors in councils and wards differs depending on whether they are municipal, regional or shire councils.

Please note, the following maps of local government areas in the Northern Territory include the changes to City of Darwin, Litchfield Council and West Arnhem Regional Council boundaries. These new boundaries will come into effect from Friday 16 July 2021. All other local government council areas remain unchanged.

View detailed maps of council and local authorities via the following links: