What is the House of Representatives?

The lower house of the federal parliament. There are 150 members who represent approx. the same number of electors each (about 80,000 electors).

What is the Senate?

The upper house of the federal parliament. It is made up of an equal number of members per state (12) plus representation by two territories (2 each).

What is a Legislative Assembly?

A state level House of Representatives, again with each member representing approx. the same number of electors.

What is a Legislative Council?

The name usually given to the upper house of a state parliament. They usually have a different method of election to provide different representation.

What is the only state in Australia that does not have an upper house?

Queensland

How many chambers/houses of parliament do territory parliaments have?

One

How many Australian territories have self-government, and therefore their own parliaments?

Two

How many local government areas are there in Australia?

About 560

What is the only state or territory that does not have a separate level of local government?

Australian Capital Territory

Which levels of government (federal, state/territory or local) are elected by the people in Australia?

All of them

How many local government areas are in the Northern Territory?

Seventeen

What names are used for local government areas in NT?

Cities, town councils and regional councils.