

West Arnhem Regional Council

Submission to the Redistribution Boundary Review – Seat of Arafura

Division of Arafura

The division of Arafura was created in 1983 and takes its name after the Arafura Sea.

The location of the division of Arafura is a "Top End" division comprising the Tiwi Islands, South Goulburn and Croker Islands, Kakadu National Park and West Arnhem and includes the communities of Gunbalanya, Jabiru, Milikapiti, Minjilang, Pirlangimpi, Warruwi and Wurrumiyanga.

The electorate has a particularly high indigenous population which is reflected in its having been represented by five consecutive indigenous MP's since Robert (Bob) Collins (non-indigenous) held the first seat after it was created following the redistribution from Arnhem at the time.

Notably, each of the Indigenous Arafura MLA's have been from the Tiwi Islands.

Member	Period	Relationship to the Region
R L Collins	1983-1987	Origin Newcastle NSW
S G Tipiloura	1987-1992	Tiwi Islands
M J Rioli	1992-2001	Tiwi Islands
M R Scrymgour	2001-2012	Tiwi Islands
F X Kurrupuwu	2012-2016	Tiwi Islands
L U Costa	2016-2022	Tiwi Islands

Proposal

West Arnhem Regional Council submits for consideration the proposal to redefine and redistribute the boundary of the seat of Arafura to include the following locations:

 Kakadu National Park, West Arnhem Islands Croker and South Goulburn, Gunbalanya, Maningrida, Milingimbi, Ramingining, Bulman and Beswick

It is also proposed that the highest tolerance from quota be allowed in the division in recognition of the significant under enrolment within the electorate.

Culturally, through song lines and kinship Northern West Arnhem, Northern East Arnhem and Central Arnhem communities connect.

The suggested name is Arnhem.