ELECTORATE SNAPSHOT

KATHERINE

Katherine has 6,239 enrolled electors as at 1 May 2024.

Past voting data

2020 Territory Election data

- 5,749 enrolled electors at close of roll
- 4,037 total votes counted
- 70.2% turnout rate by number of votes counted

2016 Territory Election data

- 5,285 enrolled electors at close of roll
- · 4,139 total votes counted
- 78.3 % turnout rate by number of votes counted

Observations

At the 2020 Territory Elections, the electorate of Katherine lost the entire suburbs of Tindal (including the RAAF Base) and Venn to the division of Arnhem.

The 2 candidate preferred candidate margin was 2.3% or 196 votes

Division members

Member	Affiliation	Period
J Hersey	CLP	Current
S Nelson	ALP	2016 - 2020
W R Westra Van Holthe	CLP	2008 - 2016
C F Miller	CLP	2003 - 2008
M A Reed	CLP	1987 - 2003

Location

The division of Katherine for the most part follows the municipality borders of the Katherine Town Council, with the exception of the Tindal RAAF base and the outer Katherine suburb of Venn which are in the division of Arnhem.

Approx. area: 6,744 km²



