# **ELECTORATE SNAPSHOT**



Daly has 6,246 enrolled electors as at 1 May 2024.

## **Past voting data**

### 2021 Daly by-election data

DAG

- 5,706 enrolled electors at close of roll
- 3,781 total votes counted
- 66.3% turnout rate by number of votes counted

### **2020 Territory Election data**

- 5,622 enrolled electors at close of roll
- 4,131 total votes counted
- 73.5% turnout rate by number of votes counted

# **Observations**

Daly had the highest turnout in the 2020 Territory Election for the remote divisions with 73.5% an improvement from 71.0% in 2016. Daly in the 2020 had the highest number of informal votes – 257 votes (7% of the total), with the majority being unintentional (64.6%).

Following the full distribution of preferences the final margin in the seat of Daly was 94 votes.

# **Local members**

Member	Party	Period
D Young	ALP	Current
l Sloan	CLP	2020 - 2021
G J Higgins	CLP	2012 - 2020
D R Knight	ALP	2005 - 2012
T D Baldwin	CLP	2001 - 2005
I L Tuxworth	CLP	1974 - 1987

# **Location**

The electorate of Daly surrounds the Darwin region to the south and west of the Top End. It extends to Kakadu National Park and Katherine in the east, the Victoria River and just south of the Victoria Highway in the south, and Darwin Harbour in the north.



The electorate of Daly includes the towns of Adelaide River, Batchelor, Dundee Beach and Pine Creek, the outer Darwin suburbs of Berry Springs, Livingstone, Fly Creek, Southport, and Wagait Beach, and the remote communities of Belyuen, Nauiyu (Daly River), Nganmarriyanga, Peppimenarti, Timber Creek and Wadeye.

Approx. area: 47,428 km<sup>2</sup>

## ntec.nt.gov.au

