Information for registered parties and candidates

Election Day - Prohibition zones and related campaigning arrangements at voting centres

Election day voting centres

A 100m prohibition of canvassing zone applies to all election day voting centres across the Territory. Canvassing for votes of any kind is not permitted within the prohibition zone and no campaign material can be placed within the prohibition zone. Maps are available on the NTEC website.

Designated campaign areas

A designated campaign area (DCA) is a place where campaigning activity is allowed within the prohibition zone at election day voting centres. The *Electoral Act 2004* allows the NTEC to designate an area to be a DCA in a place where campaigning activity is permitted.

The DCA is to provide voters with the option to access campaigners and campaign materials within the prohibited zone, it must be in an area that is avoidable by voters who do not wish to engage with campaigners.

Each registered candidate will be allowed up to 3 campaigners, including themselves, in a DCA located in the division located in the division where an election night count is occurring (see table below). Candidates must complete the designated campaign area appointment form for any campaigners they want in this area, and can be rotated throughout the day. A person engaged to represent a candidate in the DCA will be able to conduct the following:

- canvass for votes
- solicit the vote of a person
- hand out campaign material.

Permitted: Party/candidate branded material inside the DCA is limited to handouts e.g. how-to-vote cards and T-shirts worn by campaign workers. A small chair and small esky may be taken into the DCA area.

Not permitted: Campaign workers are not to call out to voters, but rather be available if a voter chooses to interact to obtain campaign material or ask a question about voting. Posters, corflutes, tents, marquees and other electoral matter, branded or unbranded are strictly prohibited inside the DCA.



The NTEC has reviewed all election day voting centres and determined that not all centres are suitable to have a DCA area in consideration of the following:

- Venue management of the voting centre has not provided permission to allow campaigning.
- There is not sufficient area to support 3 campaigners for each candidate registered in the relevant division.
- There is no suitable area for a DCA that allows access by voters and/or avoidance by voters who do not wish to engage with campaigners.

Pamphlet holders or tables will be available at all election day voting centres. Preference in the holders will be given to HTV cards for divisions where an election night count is occurring (with early voting centres that transition to election day maintaining their same HTV divisions) – outlined below. HTV holders will be displayed in ballot paper order for each nominated division, with slots filled by single HTV cards or cluster HTVs that contain only the nominated divisions. If space permits, HTV cards from any other division may be displayed.

Please provide the HTV cards to the voting centre manager. Only NTEC staff can fill out and adjust the HTV card pamphlet holders.

Election day voting centre	Election day voting centre location	Division	DCA determined suitable	Pamphlet holder divisions	DCA Candidate divisions
Alice Springs	Alice Plaza	Araluen	No	Araluen, Barkly, Braitling, Gwoja, Namatjira	No DCA
Berrimah	Haileybury Rendall School	Fong Lim	No	Fong Lim, Karama, Sanderson	No DCA
Berry Springs	Berry Springs Shopping Village	Daly	No	Daly, Goyder, Nelson	No DCA
Braitling	Braitling Primary School	Braitling	No	Braitling	No DCA
Casuarina	<u>Casuarina</u> <u>Square</u>	Casuarina	No	Casuarina, Johnston, Nightcliff, Sanderson, Wanguri	No DCA
Coolalinga	Coolalinga Central Shopping Centre	Nelson	No	Daly, Goyder, Nelson	No DCA



Darwin City	Darwin Entertainment Centre	Port Darwin	Yes	Fannie Bay, Fong Lim, Port Darwin	Fannie Bay, Fong Lim, Port Darwin
Eaton	Old Flip out site, Osgood Drive, Eaton	Sanderson	No	Johnston, Sanderson	No DCA
Gillen	Gillen Primary School	Araluen	No	Namatjira Araluen	No DCA
Howard Springs	Whitewood Hall	Nelson	Yes	Nelson	Nelson
Humpty Doo	<u>Taminmin</u> <u>College</u>	Goyder	Yes	Goyder, Nelson	Goyder, Nelson
Ilparpa	Blatherskite Park (Alice Springs Showgrounds)	Namatjira	Yes	Namatjira	Namatjira
Karama	O'Loughlin Catholic College	Karama	Yes	Karama	Karama
Katherine	Katherine Central Shopping Centre	Katherine	No	Arnhem, Gwoja, Katherine	No DCA
Larapinta	<u>Living Waters</u> <u>Lutheran</u> School	Namatjira	Yes	Araluen, Namatjira	Araluen, Namatjira
Leanyer	Leanyer Primary School	Wanguri	Yes	Wanguri	Wanguri
Ludmilla	Ludmilla Primary School	Fannie Bay	Yes	Fannie Bay, Fong Lim	Fannie Bay, Fong Lim
Malak	Sanderson Middle School	Sanderson	Yes	Karama, Sanderson	Karama, Sanderson
Moil	Moil Primary School	Johnston	No	Johnston, Sanderson	No DCA
Nhulunbuy	Nhulunbuy Town Hall	Mulka	Yes	Mulka	Mulka
Nightcliff	Nightcliff Middle School	Nightcliff	No	Nightcliff, Johnston	No DCA
Palmerston City	Palmerston Shopping Centre	Drysdale	No	Blain, Brennan, Drysdale, Spillett	No DCA



Parap	Parap Primary School	Fannie Bay	<u>Yes</u>	Fannie Bay, Fong Lim	Fannie Bay, Fong Lim
Rosebery	Palmerston College 7-9 campus	Brennan	Yes	Blain, Brennan	Blain, Brennan
Sadadeen	Centralian Senior College	Braitling	Yes	Braitling	Braitling
Tennant Creek	Tennant Creek Civic Hall	Barkly	No	Barkly	No DCA
Tindal	<u>Tindal</u> <u>Community</u> <u>Hall</u>	Arnhem	Yes	Arnhem	Arnhem
Wagait Beach	Wagait Community Centre	Daly	Yes	Daly	Daly
Woodroffe	Sacred Heart Catholic Primary School	Blain	Yes	Blain, Drysdale	Blain, Drysdale
Yarrawonga	Gateway Shopping Centre	Spillett	No	Blain, Brennan, Drysdale, Nelson, Spillett	No DCA
Zuccoli	Zuccoli Primary School	Brennan	Yes	Brennan, Spillett	Brennan, Spillett

Last updated: 21 August 2024.

