ELECTORATE SNAPSHOT

ARAFURA

Arafura has 6,270 enrolled electors as at 1 May 2024.

Past voting data

2023 Arafura by-election data

- 5,536 enrolled electors at close of roll
- 3,214 total votes counted
- 58.1% turnout rate by number of votes counted

2020 Territory Election data

- 5,183 enrolled electors at close of roll
- 2,733 total votes counted
- 52.7% turnout rate by number of votes counted

Observations

Arafura had the lowest voter turnout at the 2020 Territory Election with 52.7%.

Voter turnout has been increasing in the division of Arafura however there is a lot more work to be done.

Division members

Member	Affiliation	Period
M Brown	ALP	Current
L Costa	ALP	2016 - 2022
F X Kurrupuwu	CLP	2012 - 2016
M R Scrymgour	ALP	2001 - 2012
M J Rioli	ALP	1992 - 2001
S G Tipiloura	ALP	1987 - 1992
R L Collins	ALP	1983 - 1987

Location

The division of Arafura is in the 'Top End' of the Northern Territory.

Arafura Communities include Gunbalanya, Jabiru, Maningrida, Warruwi, Minjilang and the Tiwi Island.

Approx. area: 57,406 km²

