

27 March, 2023

2023 NT Electoral Boundary Redistribution Committee
NT Electoral Commission
GPO Box 2419
Darwin NT 0801
via email - secretariat.ntec@nt.gov.au

To whom it may concern,

2023 NT Electoral Boundary Redistribution

Following the invitation to provide submissions to the Redistribution Committee, Alice Springs Town Council requests a third Northern Territory parliamentary seat to be reinstated.

Central Australia is a unique area with an extremely diverse range of residents. Currently, Alice Springs is represented by the seats of Braitling and Araluen with the seat of Namatjira only capturing a small section of our community.

Having only two dedicated representatives in Parliament dilutes the opportunity for Alice Springs residents to have a meaningful input into decisions that shape the Northern Territory and can result in the population feeling marginalised and disengaged with the political system. This is not an effective or sustainable way of ensuring the voice of every constituent is considered.

Alice Springs Town Council believes it is vital to the health and prosperity of the Northern Territory for a third parliamentary seat to be reinstated. This would ensure a more genuine voice for electors in the Northern Territory and a more equitable outcome for residents in Alice Springs.

Yours sincerely,

Matt Paterson MAYOR

Alice Springs Town Council
ABN 45 863 481 471
93 Todd St, Alice Springs

Northern Territory 0870

P. (08) **8950 0500**F. (08) 8953 0558
E. astc@astc.nt.gov.au
PO Box 1071, Alice Springs, NT 0871

