## **ELECTORATE SNAPSHOT**

# NELSON

### Nelson has 6,441 enrolled electors as at 1 May 2024.

#### **Past voting data**

#### 2020 Territory Election data

- 5,505 enrolled electors at close of roll
- 4,707 total votes counted
- 85.5% turnout rate by number of votes counted

#### 2016 Territory Election data

- 5,825 enrolled electors at close of roll
- 4,696 total votes counted
- 80.6% turnout rate by number of votes counted

#### **Observations**

There were no boundary changes to the electorate of Nelson.

There were 3 local election day voting centres for the electorate of Nelson, Berrimah, Coolalinga and Howard Springs. The Palmerston Hospital also hosted a mobile team for voting.

In total there were 146 informal votes or 3.1% of the 4,707 voter turnout.

#### **Division members**

Member	Affiliation	Period
G Maley	CLP	Current
G V Wood	IND	2001 - 2020
C D Lugg	CLP	1997 - 2001
C N Padgham- Purich	IND	1990 - 1997

#### Location

The division of Nelson lies in the rural area immediately to the east of Darwin and Palmerston. The division includes the outer Darwin suburbs of Girraween, Herbert, Holtze, Howard Springs, Koolpinyah, Knuckey Lagoon, McMinns Lagoon, Murrumujuk, and Shoal Bay.

Approx. area: 1,417 km<sup>2</sup>



