



Redistribution Committee secretariat.ntec@nt.gov.au 12/04/2023

Northern Territory Electoral Boundaries Redistribution Comment on Submissions

To Whom It May Concern,

I make the following comments in response to submissions relating to the redistribution of the Mulka Electorate boundaries. I note that most submissions acknowledge no need to change the boundaries. However, the following comments address the two suggested changes:

- 1) The proposal to divide Ramingining and Milingimbi between two electorates does not fit with the communities of interest principle. Ramingining and Milingimbi are communities that are strongly connected through family and culture, as well as historically and politically. Ramingining was established as a town in the late 1960s as a result of severe water shortages in Milingimbi - they are essentially one large, interconnected community spread across two locations. As a cultural and linguistic bloc, Ramingining and Milingimbi should remain as unified as possible to avoid confusion and enable the local member to serve the electorate as best possible.
- 2) The proposal to include the communities of Groote Eylandt in the Mulka Electorate and move Ramingining and Milingimibi to Arnhem will result in breaking up a homogenous community of interest (mostly Yolnu people, as well as Balanda people living on Yolnu country) with a view to include Anindilyakwa speakers and different cultural groups goes against the principal of communities of interest.

As I outlined in my original submission, Rio Tinto operations on the Gove Peninsula are due to cease activity by the end of 2027 or early 2028. In the interim period, the population of Nhulunbuy is expected to fluctuate and permanent residents connected with mining activity will decline. The outcome of this should bring Mulka more closely within the quota of electors.

Yours Sincerely,

Yiniya Mark Guyula MLA

Address: Mulka Electorate Office, Endeavour Square, Nhulunbuy NT 0880

Postal Address: PO Box 1045, Nhulunbuy NT 0881

Phone: 08 8987 0125 Email: electorate.mulka@nt.gov.au