ELECTORATE SNAPSHOT

ARNHEM

Arnhem has 6,749 enrolled electors as at 1 May 2024.

Past voting data

2020 Territory Election data

- 5,431 enrolled electors at close of roll
- 3,156 total votes counted
- 58.1% turnout rate by number of votes counted

2016 Territory Election data

- 5,158 enrolled electors at close of roll
- 2,972 total votes counted
- 57.6% turnout rate by number of votes counted

Observations

Arnhem had an increase of votes at the 2020 Territory Election of 273 (+5.3%). Following

the full distribution of preferences the final margin for this seat was 84 votes. With 232 informal votes (6.3% of total), the majority of these being unintentional,

Arnhem had the second highest number of informal votes.

Local members

Member	Party	Period
S J M Uibo	ALP	Current
L A L Lee	CLP/IND	2012 - 2016
M B A McCarthy	ALP	2005 - 2012
J L Ah Kit	ALP	1995 - 2005
W W Lanhupuy	ALP	1983 - 1995
R L Collins	ALP	1977 - 1983
R J Kentish	CLP	1974 - 1977

Location

The electorate of Arnhem is located in the north-east of the Northern Territory.

It includes Groote Eylandt and parts of the East Arnhem, Roper and Katherine regions, including the Tindal RAAF base. Its major communities include Barunga, Beswick, Bulman, Gapuwiyak, Jilkminggan, Mataranka, Minyerri, and Numbulwar.

Approx. area: 118,816 km²



