The Northern Territory Electorate Commission Redistribution Committee GPO Box 2419 Darwin NT 0801 secretariat.ntec@nt.gov.au

Dear Redistribution Committee

Submission to the 2023 Electoral Redistribution - Alice Springs Region

Every four years the NTEC provides an opportunity for the community to consider the 25 electoral divisions within the NT. As a Member of the NT Legislative Assembly since 2010, I have always embraced the Electoral Redistribution process as a time to reflect on the enrolment data and electoral boundaries for the Electorate of Araluen and the wider implications for the whole town of Alice Springs.

The Electoral Redistribution process must not be used as an opportunity to advantage the political position of any group or individual, but a means of ensuring an equitable distribution of voters in a way that reflects a common identity, interests, geography and community, where and if that is possible.

The History of the Electorate of Araluen

The Electorate of Araluen has been so named since 1983, 40 years ago. Prior to 1983 it was named the electorate of "Alice Springs". The Electorate of Araluen has a strong social and political history. It was named after the original homestead of the Connellan family, the famous aviation pioneer family of Central Australian. The "Araluen" homestead is still standing within the Araluen Arts Precinct, next to the Central Australian Aviation Museum, at the centre of the Araluen Electorate. Like other NT urban electorates, such as the Nightcliff Electorate, the namesake suburb of "Araluen" remains at the centre of much of the significant business within the Electorate.

Analysis of Enrolment data

There are four NT Electorates directly relevant to the town of Alice Springs: Araluen, Braitling, Namatjira and Gwoja.

As of 3 February 2023 the NT Electoral Commission quota for NT Electorates is 5928.

As of 3 February 2023 enrolments sit as follows:

Araluen	5931	Oversubscribed by 3 voters
Braitling	5926	Under subscribed by 2 voters
Namatjira	5870	Under subscribed by 58 voters
Gwoja	5466	Under subscribed by 462 voters

ARALUEN SUBURBS January 2023 Enrolment Figures Taken from NT Electoral Roll	Total 5933	
Alice Springs CBD	21	
Araluen	1189	
Desert Springs	838	
Gillen	2755	
Ross	1	
The Gap	1073	
Mpwetyerre	21	
	5898	
Suppressed names and addresses	35	
Total	5933	

This table shows the distribution of Araluen voters within the electorate based on the latest January 2023 figures.

Recommendations

Araluen and Braitling are essentially on quota.

Namatjira is 58 votes undersubscribed.

Gwoja is 462 voters below the current quota. Gwoja is currently a 100% bush seat covering an enormous geographical area. It has the largest geographical footprint of all the 25 NT divisions.

My recommendation would be to redistribute approximately 150-200 urban Alice Springs voters from the Araluen and Braitling electorates (approximately 300-400 voters in total) to the electorate of Gwoja.

This would add approximately 400 urban voters to Gwoja making it a mixed urban and bush electorate. It would make Gwoja slightly more manageable and easier to service for the local Member, who has an Electorate Office in Alice Springs. This would make the Gwoja and Namatjira electorates similar in their urban and bush character.

In the Electorate of Araluen 150 to 200 voters could be taken from one of the boundary areas of the electorate, either Desert Springs (formerly included in the Greatorex Electorate), or the Tmara Mara Estate (formerly in the Braitling Electorate). This change to the Electorate of Araluen would cause minimal disruption to voters and the character of the Electorate.

In conclusion, the NTEC data would suggest that minimal change to the Electorate of Araluen boundaries is required. A change of the name of the electorate would also be unnecessary, confusing and costly.

Yours sincerely,

ROBYN LAMBLEY MLA 27th February 2023