From:	John-Paul Baladi
То:	Secretariat NTEC
Subject:	NTEC Boundary Redistribution Submission - Name Change for the Division of Fannie Bay
Date:	Sunday, 26 March 2023 8:24:05 PM

To the Northern Territory Electoral Commission,

I would like to suggest the renaming of the Electoral Division of Fannie Bay to The Electoral Division of Forster.

Sir William Edward Stanley Forster (1921-1997) was the first and only Senior Judge and the only Chief Judge of the Supreme Court of the Northern Territory, serving from 1971-1977 and 1977-1979 respectively (after which the role was renamed to "chief justice").

Forster served as someone of significant public importance to the Northern Territory in his contribution to the law and justice system as well as in his capacity as a philanthropic figure who served on various organisation's boards and committees. For example, he served as the Chairman of the Museum and Galleries Board of the NT and was a member of the Aboriginal Theatre Foundation.

Forster is also the only person to ever receive a knighthood from the Monarch in relation to their services to the Northern Territory.

I make this suggestion in accordance with the preference of NTEC that Northern Territory Legislative Assembly Divisions are not tied to geographical names.

John-Paul Baladi