

# **ELECTORATE SNAPSHOT**

Gwoja has 6,284 enrolled electors as at 1 May 2024.

## **Past voting data**

#### **2020 Territory Election data**

• 5,313 enrolled electors at close of roll

GNOTA

- 2,806 total votes counted
- 52.8% turnout rate by number of votes counted

#### **2016 Territory Election data**

- 5,242 enrolled electors at close of roll
- 2,906 total votes counted
- 55.4% turnout rate by number of votes counted

#### **Observations**

The voter turnout for gwoja was lower comparing the 2016 and 2020 elections. In 2016 55.4% of the enrolled electors voted compared to 52.8% in 2020, the average for all divisions was 74.9%.

The electorate of Stuart was renamed in 2020 to Gwoja with an increase in enrolled electors of 1.4%.

### **Local members**

Party	Period
ALP	Current
ALP/IND	2016 - 2020
CLP	2012 - 2016
ALP	2006 - 2012
ALP	1996 - 2006
ALP	1983 - 1996
CLP	1974 - 1983
	ALP ALP/IND CLP ALP ALP ALP

# **Location**

The electorate of Gwoja occupies the western half of the Northern Territory. It extends south from the Victoria River all the way to the border with South Australian and includes the Tanami Desert, Watarrka National Park and Uluru-Kata Juta National Park.



Gwoja includes the communities of Amanbidji, Daguragu, Kalkarindji, Kaltukatjara, Kintore, Lajamanu, Laramba, Ntaria (Hermannsburg), Papunya, Timber Creek, Willowra, Yarralin, Yuelamu, Yuendumu, and Yulara.

# **Approx.** area: 457,599 km<sup>2</sup>

## ntec.nt.gov.au

