

Extra Activity: Timeline of Aboriginal suffrage in Australia

Answers

1863	NT became part of South Australia. At the time, SA laws allowed "all men" the right to vote.
1895	South Australia, which included the NT, allowed "all women" the right to vote. (First in the world)
1901	Federation & the Constitution – 6 colonies came together to form one country called the "Commonwealth of Australia" and a new federal parliament.
1902	Commonwealth Franchise Act – Law gave voting rights to all men and women except "any Aboriginal native of Australia, Asia, Africa or Pacific Island, except New Zealand".
1915	Voting and enrolment became compulsory in Australia (if you were allowed to vote, not for Aboriginal people)
1949	Aboriginal people who were in the army (or had served in the army) were given the right to vote in federal elections.
1962	Aboriginal people were given full voting rights in federal elections. WA and NT allowed Aboriginal vote in state elections.
1984	Voting and enrolment became compulsory for all voters, including for Aboriginal people. Mobile polling began.