29 November 2023

Dear NT Electoral Boundary Redistribution Committee,

RE: 2023 NT Electoral Boundary Redistribution Report - Arnhem Electorate boundary submission

I write to the Committee to comment specifically on the boundary of the Arnhem Electorate. As stated on the NT Electoral Commission website, the total enrolment for the NT as at 3 February was 148,188 which equates to 5,928 electors per Electorate division. I am of the understanding that the current elector numbers in the Arnhem Electorate will fit closely within the new quota numbers of 5,928 electors (plus/minus 10%).

As the current Member for Arnhem I would support no significant change to the electoral division of Arnhem which includes the communities of: Tindal RAAF Base, Mataranka and Mulggan, Jilkminggan, Kewulyi, Minyerri, Urapunga (aka Rittarangu), Ngukurr, Numbulwar, Werebun, Manyallaluk (aka Eva Valley), Barunga, Wugularr (aka Beswick), Bulman, Weemol, Gapuwiyak and surrounding homelands of Donydji, Raymingirr, Balma, Mirrngatja and Bunhanura plus the Groote Eylandt Archipelago communities of Alyangula, Angurugu, Umbakumba and Milyakburra on Bickerton Island.

On pages 31 – 32 of the Report: "The committee proposes that the division of Arnhem gain a further portion of east Arnhem Land currently located in Mulka. The area proposed to be moved includes communities located between Arnhem Bay to the north, Blue Mud Bay to the south, and east through to the coast line of Caledon Bay and the Gulf of Carpentaria. The boundary between the divisions of Arnhem and Mulka in this part of east Arnhem Land is proposed to follow the northern boundary of SA1 7106304 which runs (from east to west) along an access road from Port Bradshaw on the coast, then along a section of Central Arnhem Road then along a waterway heading north to Arnhem Bay. This proposal would involve moving the following communities from the division of Mulka to the division of Arnhem (moving from north to south): Gurrumurru, Buymarr, Garrthalala, Birany Birany, Wandawuy, Rurrangula, Bukudal, Gurkawuy, Dhurputjipi, Gan Gan, Baniyala, Barraratjpi and Djarrakpi. It does not include the coastal homelands located around Port Bradshaw (Bawaka, Dhaniya and Dhulmulmiya). These are proposed to remain in Mulka."

As the current Member for Arnhem I see that the proposed option by the Committee above is one of the least disruptive to several surrounding Electorates being: Arafura, Mulka and Katherine. The reality of servicing these proposed new Homelands expanding the physical footprint of the Arnhem Electorate would be quite challenging and I believe would diminish the quality of representation by not being part of the Mulka Electorate boundary. The main

service hub for each of these Homelands is Nhulunbuy located in the East Arnhem region would is the main township for the Mulka Electorate.

Through my submission I would again like to advocate no significant change to the Arnhem Electorate boundary with the exception of recommending that the small homeland of **Jodetluk (aka Gorge Camp)** with a population of 22 people, move out of the Katherine Electorate and into the Arnhem Electorate. As a reminder to the Committee, from my first submission, this recommendation is made because many of the residents of Jodetluk are Jawoyn people whose family connections are strongly linked to the communities of Manyallaluk, Barunga and Wugularr (Beswick).

Thank you for your time and I look forward to closely following the work of the 2023 NT Electoral Boundary Redistribution Committee. Please feel free to contact me directly if the Committee has any questions relating to this submission.

Kind regards,

Selena Miko

Selena Uibo MLA

Member for Arnhem