2020 Division of Johnston by-election

Voting centres open Saturday, 29 February from 8:00 am until 6:00 pm

Find your nearest voting centre

Frequently asked questions

Why is a by-election needed when there is a general election set for 22 August 2020?

In accordance with the Northern Territory (Self Government) Act 1978 the vacancy must be filled due to the resignation of the sitting member.

The Act states:

‘Where a casual vacancy occurs in the office of a member of the Legislative Assembly less than 3 years and 6 months after the first meeting of the Assembly following the last preceding general election, an election shall be held in the electoral division in respect of which the vacancy occurred for the purpose of filling the vacant office for the remainder of the term of office of the member who last held that office.’

The first meeting of the current Parliament was on 18 October, 2016.

Is there a cap on how much candidates and political parties can spend on the by-election?

Yes. Under the changes to the Act candidates and political parties may spend a maximum $40,000 on the by-election. All electoral expenditure must come from one Territory campaign account.

Read more information on what constitutes 'electoral expenditure' and 'Territory campaign account'.

Who is required to vote at the by-election? (i.e. what boundaries are in force)

All electors who are enrolled in the division of Johnston according to the current boundaries. This includes the suburbs of Alawa (part), Jingili, Millner and Moil.

NOTE: Electoral boundaries determined at the 2019 NT Electoral Boundary Redistribution come into effect at the 2020 Territory Election (issue of the writ on Thursday, 30 July 2020).

Map of the division of Johnston

What voting system will be used for the by-election?

Changes to legislation in 2018 will see voting at the 2020 Johnston by-election return to the full preferential system. The system requires voters to number every box in order of their preference.

NOTE: The optional preferential system used in the 2016 Territory Election which allowed voters to mark one, some or all the boxes on the ballot paper will no longer be valid.