Timetable

The Johnston by-election is on Saturday, 29 February 2020.


PDF document iconElection timetable

DateTime 
Thursday, 6 February 2020   Issue of the writ / nominations open
Friday, 7 February 2020 5:00 pm Electoral roll closes

Thursday, 13 February 2020

12:00 noon
Nominations close
TBC Declaration of nominations and draw for position on ballot paper/s
Monday, 17 February 2020 TBC Early, mobile and postal voting commences
Tuesday, 25 February 2020
5:00 pm Postal mail-out ceases to overseas addresses
Thursday, 27 February 2020
5:00 pm Postal mail-out ceases to Australian addresses
Friday, 28 February 2020 6:00 pm Early voting ceases
Saturday, 29 February 2020
8:00 am to 6:00 pmElection Day
Saturday, 29 February 2020 6:00 pm onwards Commence counting the votes
Monday, 2 March 2020 9:00 am Commence recheck of all votes

Friday, 13 March 2020

12:00 noon Deadline for receipt of postal votes
12:00 noon onwards Final count of postal votes and distribution of preferences
Monday, 16 March 2020
10:00 am
Declaration of election results
Monday, 6 April 2020
  Return of the writ