2021 Local Government Elections | NTEC

2021 Local Government Elections

The Northern Territory Local Government general election timetable is determined by the Local Government Act 2008 and Local Government (Electoral) Regulations.

Key dates:

  • Nominations open: Friday, 16 July
  • Close of electoral roll: Tuesday, 27 July at 5:00 pm
  • Close of nominations: Thursday, 5 August at 12:00 noon
  • Early voting commences: Monday, 16 August
  • Election day: Saturday, 28 August

The full timetable can be found via the following link:

Can I vote by post?

Yes. You can apply for a postal vote and have the ballot papers sent to your nominated address. Applications can be made now.

Please note that registered general postal voters are automatically sent ballot papers and are not required to lodge a new application.

More information on voting by post in this election can be found via the following link:

How and when do I nominate?

Candidates must lodge a completed nomination form after the call for nominations (Friday, 16 July) and before the close of nominations at 12:00 noon on Thursday, 5 August 2021. The public declaration of nominations and draw for positions on the ballot paper takes place soon after nominations close.

More information can be found via the following link:

What if I need to update my enrolment?

The electoral roll closes at 5:00 pm on Tuesday, 27 July. Your electoral enrolment must be correct so you can vote for the candidates in your local government area. Find out how to enrol or update your electoral enrolment via the following link:

What local government area do I live in?

Maps showing all local government areas in the Northern Territory can be found via the following link: