Timetable

The election timetable is below and is also available as a PDF file.

Date Time  
Wednesday 29 August Nominations open
Monday 3 September 5:00 pm Electoral roll closes
Tuesday 4 September 12:00 noon Nominations close
1:00 pm Declaration of nominations, draw for position on ballot papers
Wednesday 5 September Postal vote mail-out commences
8:00 am Early voting commences
Monday 17 September 9:00 am Mobile voting commences
6:00 pm Overseas postal voting despatches cease
Tuesday 18 September 6:00 pm All postal voting despatches cease
Wednesday 19 September 5:00 pm Early voting ceases
Thursday 20 September Election day
8:00 am Election day voting commences
3:30 pm Election day voting ceases
  Mobile voting ceases
  Primary counts of ordinary, postal and early votes commence
  Primary counts of postal, mobile and early votes commence
Monday 24 September 9:00 am Declaration vote verification checks, commence recheck of all counts
Tuesday 25 September 9:00 am Primary counts of accepted declaration votes, further postal counts
Wednesday 26 September 12:00 noon Deadline for receipt of postal votes
  Final counts of postal votes commence
  Distribution of preferences
Monday 1 October 10:00 am Declaration of the election result