Timetable

The election timetable is below and is also available as a PDF file.

Date Time  
Wednesday 13 March Nominations open
Wednesday 20 March 5:00 pm Electoral roll closes
Friday 22 March 12:00 noon Nominations close
1:00 pm Declaration of nominations, draw for position on ballot papers
  Postal vote mail-out commences
Monday 25 March 8:00 am Early voting commences
Monday 1 April 9:00 am Mobile voting commences
6:00 pm Overseas postal voting despatches cease
Wednesday 3 April 6:00 pm All postal voting despatches cease
Thursday 4 April 5:00 pm Early voting ceases
Friday 5 April Election day
8:00 am Election day voting commences
3:30 pm Election day voting ceases
  Mobile voting ceases
Primary counts of ordinary, postal and early votes commence
  Primary counts of postal, mobile and early votes commence
Monday 8 April 9:00 am Declaration vote verification checks, commence recheck of all counts
  Primary counts of accepted declaration votes, further postal counts
Thursday 11 April 12:00 noon Deadline for receipt of postal votes
  Final counts of postal votes commence
  Distribution of preferences
2:00 pm Declaration of the election result