Federal elections | NTEC

Federal elections

The Australian Electoral Commission conducts federal elections and by-elections, referendums and maintains the Commonwealth electoral roll. The Northern Territory Electoral Commission uses the joint electoral roll with the Australian Electoral Commission.

Federal elections and by-elections are held in accordance with the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 to elect members and senators to the federal parliament in Canberra.

For further information on federal elections visit the Australian Electoral Commission website.