Legislative Assembly divisions | NTEC

Legislative Assembly divisions

The Northern Territory covers approximately 1,420,000 square kilometres and has 25 Legislative Assembly divisions; each represented by one elected member of the Legislative Assembly. Electoral divisions are very different in geographical size and can range from as little as four square kilometres to almost 450,000 square kilometres. However, each division has approximately the same number of electors, around 5,500.

Electoral divisions may also be known as constituencies, electoral boundaries, electorates or seats - the term electorate can also refer to the electors enrolled in that division.

View Legislative Assembly division boundary maps and profiles via the following links:


In accordance with Part 8, Division 2, section 138(2) of the Electoral Act 2004, the redistribution process must be conducted as soon as practicable after 2 years and 6 months after election day for the general election. The boundaries of each division are reviewed and changed, if necessary, so that the number of electors in each division are as near to equal as practicable. Any changes become effective at the next general election.

View more information on redistributions conducted in the Northern Territory via the following link: