Timetable | NTEC


The Northern Territory Legislative Assembly general election timetable is determined by the Electoral Act 2004 which specifies the following.

  • Issue of the writ: Twenty-four days before election day
  • Close of electoral roll: One day after the issue of the writ
  • Close of nominations: 12:00 noon, seven days after the issue of the writ
  • Election day: Fourth Saturday in August every four years

Issue of writ

The writ is a legal document, issued by the Administrator of the Northern Territory, authorising the Electoral Commissioner to conduct an election for the Legislative Assembly. The writ sets out the key dates for the election and the commissioner is required to give public notice of receipt of the writ.

After the declaration of election results, the commissioner endorses the writ with the names of the successful candidates and returns the writ to the administrator.

Close of electoral roll

The electoral roll is closed one day after the writ is issued. You must enrol at your current residential address so you can vote for the candidates in your electoral division.

Please note you can still update your address details after the close of roll; however, you will be 'captured' on the roll for your previous address and you must provide this address when voting. Updating your details after the close of roll for an election ensures your details are correct for future events.

Close of nominations

Candidates standing in a Northern Territory Legislative Assembly election must lodge a completed nomination form after the close of the electoral roll and before the close of nominations at 12:00 noon, seven days after the issue of the writ.

The public declaration of nominations and draw for positions on the ballot paper takes place soon after nominations close.

Election timetable

Day no.DayTimeEventElectoral Act reference
1Thursday Issue of writs 28



8:00 pm

Close of electoral roll

(one day after issue of writ)

s 8



12:00 noon


Close of nominations

Draw for positions on ballot paper

(seven days after issue of writ)

ss 28, 34

ss 37, 41

12Monday Early, postal and remote/mobile voting commencesss 3, 62, 69
20Tuesday5:00 pmPostal mail-out ceases to overseas addressess 62(3)(a)
22Thursday5:00 pmPostal mail-out ceases to Australian addressess 62(3)(b)
23Friday6:00 pmEarly voting ceasess 3
24Saturday8:00 am to 6:00 pmElection day ss 3, 28



12:00 noon

Deadline for receipt of postal votes

(second Friday after election day)

s 112(1)(a)

40* Monday10:00 amFormal declaration of election resultss 131
* NT Electoral Commission policy (day and date not set by legislation)