Early voting | NTEC

Early voting

Wagait Shire Council logo

The Wagait by-election is on Saturday 17 September 2022.

Voting in person

Wagait Shire Council - Office

142 Wagait Tower Rd.
Wagait Beach NT

Monday 5 - Friday 9 September      8:00 am - 12:00 pm  
    1:00 pm - 4:00 pm  
Monday 12 - Friday 16 September      8:00 am - 12:00 pm  
    1:00 pm - 4:00 pm  

Northern Territory Electoral Commission

TCG Building.
Level 3, 80 Mitchell Street,
Darwin NT

Monday 5 - Friday 9 September      8:00 am - 5:00 pm  
Monday 12 - Thursday 15 September      8:00 am - 5:00 pm  
Friday 16 September   8:00 am - 6:00 pm   

Voting by post

Applying for a postal vote is also an option for those electors that cannot vote in person. Postal ballot papers will be sent from Friday 2 September to your nominated address. Applications can be made now.

When will the ballot paper be sent to me?

Once the declaration of nominations is conducted, ballot papers are printed and ballot material is forwarded from Friday 2 September.

What is the latest despatch of ballot material?

The mail-out of ballot material ceases at 6:00 pm on:

  • Tuesday 13 September, to forwarding addresses outside Australia.
  • Thursday 15 September, to forwarding addresses within Australia.

Your application must reach the commission before 6:00 pm on the above-mentioned days to allow enough time for postage.

When do I complete my ballot paper?

You must complete your ballot paper before 6:00 pm on election day, Saturday 17 September 2022.

Post your ballot paper, using the reply paid envelope, to the commission so it is received before 12:00 noon on the second Friday following election day (that is, Friday 30 September 2022).

You can also hand-deliver the envelope to:

  • an electoral official at any voting centre during opening hours
  • a Northern Territory Electoral Commission office.