Timetable | NTEC


2021 Local Government Elections logo

The election timetable is determined by the Local Government Act 2019 and Local Government Electoral Regulations 2021 which specifies:

  • Notice inviting nominations: At least 43 days before election day
  • Close of electoral roll: Thirty-two days before election day at 5:00 pm
  • Close of nominations: Twenty-three days before election day at 12:00 noon
  • Election day: Fourth Saturday in August every four years

Download a copy of the timetable via the following link:

Friday 16 July  Nominations open
Tuesday 27 July 5:00 pm Electoral roll closes
Thursday 5 August12:00 noon Nominations close
Friday 6 August12:00 noonDeclaration of nominations and draw for position on ballot papers
Monday 9 August   Postal vote mail-out commences
Monday 16 August
8:00 am
Early voting commences
Monday 16 August   Mobile voting commences
Tuesday 24 August
6:00 pm Overseas postal voting despatch ceases
Thursday 26 August
6:00 pm All postal voting despatch ceases
Friday 27 August
6:00 pm Early voting ceases
Saturday 28 August8:00 am until 6:00 pmELECTION DAY
Saturday 28 August
6:00 pm onwards
Commence counting the votes
Monday 30 August
9:00 am Commence recheck of all votes
Friday 10 September
12:00 noon Deadline for receipt of postal votes
Friday 10 September
12:00 noon onwards Final count of postal votes and distribution of preferences
Monday 13 September
TBC Declaration of election result