Elections | NTEC


The NT Electoral Commission (NTEC) is an independent agency responsible for conducting Legislative Assembly and Local Government (Council) elections in the Northern Territory. Its authority covers general by-elections and extraordinary parliamentary elections. The NTEC is also required to undertake referendums in accordance with the Referendums Act 1998.

Voting is compulsory in all federal, NT Legislative Assembly and NT Local Government (Council) elections.